Traveling

With the semester coming to an end all I can think about it working over the summer so I can afford to study abroad in Ireland for a couple of weeks. I really want to travel the world and meet new people and have new experiences. Even though I am quite shy and introverted, it excites me to see how other lives can be so much different from my own in so many different areas.

Hopefully while I am in Ireland I can find a place to really sit down and meditate. When I do travel the world one day I want to meditate each place that I visit and just try to connect with the people who live there. This feeling I have to be with others is what drives me to study nursing and travel the world and get to know people. It just boggles my mind that I have this flip side to me that is completely content with staying inside under the covers and hiding. Through meditation I hope that soon I will be able to accept change easier so that when I am in a new country I am not upset with anxiety because the land is unfamiliar and the place I call home is hundreds of miles away.

I also wonder if this need to be with others is coming from my need to show compassion to others. If it is, I’m going to follow through with it because that’s what I truly think I am supposed to do with my life right now. Just experience everything I can and talk to all different types of people and hear their stories and what they have learned in their life. It almost makes me think of the teachings by Hume and his whole ideology of fellow-feeling and how we are all interconnected. Just like it is preached in Buddhism that we are all connected and have the same feelings, Hume is almost saying this same thing.

Leave a Reply

