Take Back The Night

Unfortunately I was unable to try and be kind to that individual since they decided not to come on the trip. I was happy yet sad since I genuinely wanted to try to show some sort of loving and kindness towards them, but I decided to try again next time I see them in class.

Take Back The Night was such an amazing experience and I urge everyone to attend an event. It raises awareness about sexual assault and allows survivors and victims to speak their story. While people got on stage one by one and spoke out about what their perpetrators did, I couldn’t help but feel the love and compassion in the air. As each brave person stepped up on stage I focused on sending them compassion and strength through tonglen. It takes a lot to stand in front of everyone and retell what happened to you. As a group, we were there to support them, believe them, and help them in any way that we could.

Before the speak out section of the event, we went on a march with signs and chanted different sayings. We were all told to grab a sign even if it didn’t pertain to you and repeat after the leaders. At first I thought it was strange since I had never been a part of something of this nature, let alone hold a sign that had nothing to do with me, but as we paraded through the city of Scranton I could feel our strength in numbers overwhelm those who were giving us looks or making rude gestures. It was truly an experience and I hope that one day you can attend one and feel the compassion such as I did that night.

I don’t want readers to think that this was a male-shaming event. There were multiple victims that spoke before us that were males. As a group we support all victims and survivors not matter their gender, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation or economic background.

Leave a Reply

